Sunday, March 15, 2009

Stop Pouring Coffee in the Trash Can, Jerk



Ok people. This is a tricky one for me because I have no idea who I'm going to piss off here. This is something I've seen almost every time I've been in a coffee shop and it blows my mind every time. So to that end I might be pointing my finger at a whole lot of you, not just "them", the obvious, obnoxious others that normally drive us all crazy.

Picture this with me. Go on a little vision quest into my tale of treachery and laziness.

You walk into Starbucks, stand in line, order your soon-to-be-delightful hot beverage, and wait. Before you know it, with a machine-like precision, your friendly Barista delivers, like she does a hundred times an hour for eight hours, a triple-shot Vente French Vanilla Americano into your eager little hands.

Now it's time to personalize it. Some cream, sugar... hmmm, maybe Splenda™ today. You know, the diet and all. Alright, it's a little full, I'll just dump out the top half inch to an inch....

STOP!!!

Wait, what? Did you just pour coffee into the garbage can? Do you do that at home? Is that where the liquids go that you don't want?

Do you know how much refuse coffee you people are filling those trash cans with? Those bags get heavy and god forbid they have a small hole, cuz, you know, that happens. Seriously, do you think that's fun to deal with? Way to be completely inconsiderate.

You may think that it's really not a big deal. It's expected. Those trash bags can hold it. Yeah, that's why little indie coffee shops have signs up that say don't pour your effing coffee into the garbage can. Just ask the Barista to do that for you.

Or better yet... ORDER IT WITH ROOM FOR CREAM! Is the name of your signature drink so long that you forget to tack that on at the end? I guarantee it's not. Do you think you're going to get ripped off and they're gonna not give you enough? Well, clearly the way you're doing it isn't working out. Why not give it a try.

Seriously, people. Room for cream. That's all. It's easy. I've seen dogs learn to say "I love you". Take the time and be courteous to the people that have to clean up after you.

Room for effing cream.

6 Comments:

Blogger Unknown said...

Not to mention that your 160 deg. coffee would melt a giant hole in the thin plastic trash bag. The next time your Tom's get ruined by hot coffee as it drips out of the receptacle box, you'll know you effed up.

March 16, 2009 at 11:07 AM  
Blogger BJORKY! said...

When baristas learn what "room for cream" means, I will stop dumping coffee in the trash. It's not fun to have coffee splash all over your car when you are driving. Also, Starbucks coffee is like acid, so the only way to drink it is to drown it with cream. How can you add cream if there is no room?

March 17, 2009 at 11:53 AM  
Blogger T.J. said...

I just stumbled onto your site.

I like it. If you're really bored sometime, stop by and say hi.

Buenos con queso,

T.

June 10, 2009 at 8:24 AM  
Blogger Kathryn said...

I will readily admit that I am one of those people. I never did it until my only choice for coffee was Starbucks. Prior to frequenting Starbucks, the coffee shops I went too either had a little sink of some other kind of receptacle for coffee. Mostly the pour is the result of my asking for coffee with room for cream, and the barista leaving barely enough room in the cup for one drop of cream. I find it odd that the independent coffee shops have the foresight to put something there for this purpose, and yet the all powerful and all knowing Starbucks does not. Even smalley chains, such as Petes and Tulleys do.

September 12, 2009 at 7:59 PM  
Blogger Unknown said...

The coffee in your cup is valuable.. Think about all the blood, sweat, tears and exhaustion the poor Guatamalen's (insert poor coffee growing country name here) who labored for it for non-fair wages in fucked up conditions! That's as bad as spilling gasoline at the pump. I always ask for God to forgive me when I pump gas or (Gasp) spill my non-fair trade coffee into the garbage can... Just imagine it's blood your drinking. Then you won't want to spill a drop...

September 25, 2009 at 3:17 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

One would think there would be a place to dump excess coffee by now. This is something the store owners should be addressing.

May 1, 2010 at 12:41 PM  

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home